Country's premier Arts organization- Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA)- an autonomous institution under the Union Ministry of Culture, Government of India, has decided to introduce five diploma courses and 6 new Certificate Courses in art and culture and related subjects. Basic aim of these courses is to create arts and culture with all its dimension and information technology to design and develop content exploration system to intensify culture learning and visualisation. It employees modern digital tools, techniques, and methodologies to achieve the intended purposes. This initiative attempts to make our ancient knowledge and achievements accessible on a multimedia platform, thus enabling communication between the ancient and modern knowledge.

The details of 5 one year Post Graduate Diploma evening courses introduced to attract the people towards Indian art and to nurture trained manpower in the related fields, in the academic year 2018-19 are-

i. PG Diploma in Cultural Informatics

ii. PG Diploma in Preventive Conservation

iii. PG Diploma in Buddhist Studies

iv. PG Diploma in Digital Library and Data Management

v. PG Diploma in Manuscriptology and Palaeography

In addition to the above courses, IGNCA will be introducing 6 new Certificate Courses shortly:

i. Academic Integrity and Research Ethics

ii. Open Access for Library and Information Science Professionals

iii. Open Access for Researchers

iv. Digital Library and Information Management

v. Research Methodology

vi. Cinema Studies and Cultural Documentation

The above courses will provide an opportunity to scholars, researchers and the students to have a modern management technique and professional approach, so far lacking in the art management field to put forth rich art and cultural heritage of the country on a global platform.

0 thoughts on “GNCA introduces Five PG Diploma Courses and 6 new Certificate Courses”

Post Comment

Daily News